Monday, 14 September 2015


New 7 Wonders of the World

New 7 Wonders of the World (2000–2007) was an initiative started in 2000 as a Millennium project to choose Wonders of the World from a selection of 200 existing monuments. The popularity poll was led by Canadian-Swiss Bernard Weber and organized by the New 7 Wonders Foundation based in Zurich, Switzerland, with winners announced on 7 July 2007 in Lisbon.
The New 7 Wonders Foundation claimed that more than 100 million votes were cast through the Internet or by telephone. The voting via Internet was limited to one vote for seven monuments per person/identity, via telephone multiple voting was possible, so the poll was considered not scientific. According to John Zogby, founder and current President/CEO of the Utica, New York-based polling organization Zogby International, New7Wonders Foundation drove "the largest poll on record". After supporting the New 7 Wonders 

Foundation at the beginning of the campaign, by providing advice on nominee selection, the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) by its by laws having to record all and give equal status to the world heritage sites distanced itself from the undertaking in 2001 and again in 2007.

The New 7 Wonders Foundation, established in 2001, relied on private donations and the sale of broadcast rights and received no public funding or taxpayers' money. After the final announcement, New 7 Wonders said it didn't earn anything from the exercise and barely recovered its investment. The foundation has run two subsequent programs: New 7 Wonders of Nature, the subject of voting until 2011, and New 7 Wonders Cities, which wound up in 2014.


Great Pyramid of Giza
(honorary status)
Giza NecropolisEgyptPyramide Kheops2560 BC
Great Wall of China
Wànlǐ Chángchéng
ChinaThe Great Wall of China (Mutianyﺁ section)700 BC
JordanThe end of the Siq, with its dramatic view of Al Khazneh ("The Treasury")312 BC
The Colosseum
Amphitheatrum Flavium
RomeItalyThe Colosseum at dusk: exterior view of the best-preserved section80 AD
Chichén Itzá
Chi'ch'èen Ìitsha'
YucatánMexicocordelia maxwell house600 AD
Machu Picchu
Machu Pikchu
Cuzco RegionPeruMachu Picchu in Peru1450 AD
Taj Mahal
ताज महल
AgraUttar PradeshIndiaTaj1643 AD
Christ the Redeemer
Cristo Redentor
Rio de JaneiroBrazilChrist the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro1931 AD

The Great Pyramid of Giza, largest and oldest of the three pyramids at the Giza Necropolis in Egypt and the only surviving (and oldest) of the original Seven Wonders of the Ancient World, was granted honorary status.